The Works of Howie Good

Howie Good is the author of the full-length poetry collections Lovesick (Press Americana, 2009), Heart With a Dirty Windshield (BeWrite Books, 2010),
and Everything Reminds Me of Me (Desperanto, 2011), as well as 24 print and digital poetry chapbooks.

All Poems © Howie Good

You tired? Lean
against something


such as the birth
of the modern navy.

A canary doesn't
usually chirp

this much.
That other noise

is rain

being squeezed
from fresh hearts.


I’ll leave when you say.
I’ll stay if you think I should.

After farmers seeded the clouds,
the clouds became barking crocodiles.

White petals mixed with red.

The TV hazily recalls
homicidal machines approaching
across a stubble field.

Coffee keeps you up.

We pass between the black crow
and the even blacker shadow it throws.

Where I'm From

I came straight from work
to meet them on the corner,
but, of course,
they had already become
fine particles of smoke.
While I waited, I listened to music
for barbed wire and accordion.
The short days of winter
had sneaked up on us,
the sky like a fogged mirror,
the frozen puddles like pale bruises.
I stood there for what
seemed a lifetime,
naked by then and shivering
and with my hands raised
in the air, an unqualified witness
to an unspecified event.